Fellowship and Student Awards

Fellowship and Student Awards - ISCPHi A

Over 100 people including MISCPs, awardees, parents, staff and Board members  attended the Society’s Annual Fellowship and Student Awards at the Charlemont Hilton Hotel on 18 April.  President Catherine McLoughlin hosted a very enjoyable evening and made the official presentations to the Fellows and student awardees.  


The evening kicked off with an inspiring keynote address from guest speaker Dr. Karen Weekes, the first Irish female to row solo across any ocean. Dr. Weekes shared her expertise in effective coping strategies, drawing from her experiences in ultra-endurance expeditions and academic research. Her ideas for managing challenges in business, sports, and life struck a chord with guests, laying the groundwork for an evening of celebration and motivation. 


Among the highlights of the event were the recognition of three distinguished professionals as Fellowship awardees: Dr. Brona Fullen, Prof. Kieran O’Sullivan, and Cinny Cusack. Each of these individuals has made significant contributions to the field of physiotherapy through their research, leadership, and clinical expertise. 


Dr. Brona Fullen, an Associate Professor at the UCD School of Public Health, Physiotherapy, and Sports Science, was honoured for her groundbreaking work in pain management. Her research, focused on leveraging technology to alleviate chronic pain, has garnered international acclaim and research funding from prestigious organisations. Dr. Fullen's leadership and dedication to advancing pain research have positioned her as a trailblazer in the field. 


Prof. Kieran O’Sullivan, renowned for his expertise in musculoskeletal pain and injury, particularly low back pain, was recognised for his outstanding contributions to research, teaching, and professional leadership. With over 180 journal articles and numerous awards to his name, Prof. O’Sullivan's impact on physiotherapy education and practice is profound and far-reaching. 


Cinny Cusack, a pioneer in pelvic health and continence physiotherapy, was celebrated for her transformative work in advancing clinical practice and education. From her instrumental role in developing continence services to her advocacy for women's health initiatives, Cinny's passion and dedication have had a lasting impact on the profession. 

In addition to honouring seasoned professionals, the evening also showcased the talent and promise of future physiotherapy leaders with a great turnout from our student winners of the   Anne O’Brien Prize  and the Student Research Prize ( see the full list of winner below).


Two further presentations from International Affaris were also made. These went to  Prof. Kieran O'Sullivan  'In recognition of contribution to ERWCPT Working Group  2020-2022' and to a pleasantly surprised Natasha Hinwood for her contribution to the World Physiotherapy  CPC 2023.

The event was organised by the Professional Development Unit lead by Rachel Maguire, who paid tribute to the contribution of her team including Philip Murphy, and in particular Máirín Carroll who takes the lead in organising the annual Awards. CEO Marie Ó Mír thanked everyone who attended what is one of the Society’s yearly highlights and noted that she looked forward to seeing more from the student awardees, wishing them well as they embark on what she regards as a rewarding and interesting career. 


Anne O'Brien  Award Recipients  2023

Maeve Kearney  UCC (MSc)

Heather Hayes  UCC (MSc)

Lucy McMahon UCD (BSc)

Hannah Stewart UCD (MSc)

Jack Nolan RCSI (BSc)

Elaine Wright (cannot attend) TCD (BSc)

Caroline Fitzell (Siobhan O'Reilly collecting award) UL (BSc)

Róisín Cahill UL (MSc)


Winners of the Student Research Prize 2023

Rachel McDonald UCC (MSc)

Sara Cogley UCC (MSc)

Clodagh Cullen UCD (BSc)

Róisín Dempsey UCD (BSc)

Siobhán O Sullivan UCD (BSc)

Isabel Burke UCD (BSc)

Euan Tobin  UCD (BSc)

Megan Bertrands  UCD (MSc)

Check out  the pictures from the evening our flickr account